Positive Charge and City of Moonee Valley

To help residents reduce their electricity and gas bills, City of Moonee Valley Council has subscribed to Positive Charge. 

Positive Charge will provide up-to-date and impartial energy efficiency and renewable energy advice and one-to-one support for the householders, businesses and council staff. So if you are a resident, business owner or council staff member in the Moonee Valley municipality and need help managing your energy usage then please call and/or sign up to our monthly e-news.

The independent energy experts at Positive Charge are ready to help you with independent energy efficiency and renewable energy advice. Whether you need a quick question answered, or you require a more detailed consultation, or you would like a visit from one of our energy assessors then we are here to help. Call our helpline for a quick chat during business hours, Mon-Fri on 03 9385 8555.

About City of Moonee Valley

Home to about 118,000 residents, Moonee Valley is a diverse, vibrant and successful community.

Moonee Valley is a  mostly residential area covering 43 km², located between four and 13 kilometres from Melbourne's CBD. The city is divided into three wards – Rose Hill, Buckley and Myrnong.

Around 118,000 residents or 47,000 households call Moonee Valley home. The community is culturally and linguistically diverse, with more than a quarter of the population born overseas.

In 1861, the householders and landowners in the Parish of Doutta Galla petitioned the Governor of Victoria to allow their local area to become a municipal district. In December of that year the Governor granted the petitioners their wish and the boroughs of Essendon and Flemington were incorporated. The first Council meeting of the newly formed municipality took place at the Moonee Ponds Hotel on Saturday, 25 January 1862.

The City of Moonee Valley, as we know it today, formed in 1994 after the merger of the City of Keilor with the City of Essendon.

Towns and suburbs

  • Aberfeldie
  • Airport West
  • Ascot Vale
  • Avondale Heights
  • Essendon
  • Essendon North
  • Essendon West
  • Flemington (Shared with the City of Melbourne)
  • Keilor East (Shared with the City of Brimbank)
  • Moonee Ponds
  • Niddrie
  • Strathmore
  • Strathmore Heights
  • Travancore

Useful Links

Environemtal Programs

Waste and Recycling

Sustainable Transport


Community Centres and halls